Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2″ Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only

  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    MAKITA 18V LXT® Compact Brushless ½” Driver-Drill & Hammer Driver-Drill (XFD12, XPH12)
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--2 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium Ion Brushless Cordless 1 2 Hammer Driver Drill, Tool Only
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--3 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    MAKITA 18V LXT® Brushless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill Kit (XPH07M)
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--4 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita Brushless Cordless Hammer Driver Drill Review
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--5 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Cordless Drill Upgrade – Makita 18V Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Combo Kit Unboxing
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--6 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita XLT Brushless Driver-Drill & Hammer Driver-Drill XPH12 & XFD12
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--7 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    DeWalt vs Makita Brushless Hammer Drill and Impact Combo Set Comparisons
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--8 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita XPH10Z XPH102 XPH10R Hammer Driver‑Drill Kit Unboxing
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--9 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita XFD01Z 18-volt LXT Lithium Ion Cordless 1/2-Inch Driver-Drill Tool Only –
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-makita-xph12z-cordless-hammer-driver-drill--10 Review of Makita XPH12Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill, Tool Only
    Makita LXPH01Z 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless 1/2-Inch Hammer Driver-Drill Tool Only No
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of October 19, 2018 8:29 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Makita is the development leader in Brushless motor development, and the 18V LXT ® Brushless hammer driver-drill (XPH12Z, tool just) integrates power and run-time for more drilling, driving and protecting tasks in wood, metal, and masonry. The reliable Makita BL Brushless motor is digitally handled and crafted for longer run time, increased power and speed, and longer tool life. The variable 2-speed Brushless motor offers as much as 2,000 RPM and 530 in.Lbs. Of max torque for effective accessory. It weighs just 4.2 pounds (with battery) with an L.E.D. Light that illuminate the task location for applications in dark areas.

Customer Reviews

Only useful as a hammer drill

 on September 11, 2017
By karli
General contractor here. I own many Makitas and this is the only one that’s trash. Lots of motor power for its size but it gets stuck in hammer mode. Only useful as a hammer drill. Others have mentioned this same issue so no point sending it to Makita to be repaired as its clearly a design flaw and not a defect. This model needs to be redesigned and Makita needs to recall this.

Great product, terrible shipping

 on December 30, 2016
By Pops
Let me start by saying I’m reviewing only the product (meaning this drill), with my rating. Makita seems to hold true to their history of quality with this drill. It is VERY compact, about an inch shorter than my XPH06. The shift between modes feels very solid and it is well balanced in the hand. The speed shift is a bit difficult to switch, but not terrible and the firm switch will prevent accidental actuation. The chuck is an upgrade over the previous model and the hammer function feels good. The slop that was an annoyance in the chuck on the XPH06 is gone, along with the hammer action when in drill mode. I have yet to really put it through its paces, but so far so good.

Makita never quits

 on August 9, 2017
By Mitch
I have only used this once, and very briefly, but have 2 years worth of experience with Makita 18V tools. My Makita driver put up an entire 300 or so foot fence (I used the tool, my neighbor held the boards) with one full charge on a 4.0 AH battery, one full charge on a 3.0 AH battery, and the last 10 boards on the re-charged 4.0 AH…

BEST OF THE MAKITA COMPACT DRILLS! – Get this Model

 on March 19, 2018
By MacUser
Where to begin…. of all the Makita Drills, this one has more torque and speed over the other LXT compact models. I did a TON of research on drills. Must have spent weeks looking online, comparing them price vs. value, etc. This one beat them all. Once I decided on Makita, then it was determining which model.

Be Sure to Test It – Sticks in Hammer Mode

 on June 25, 2018
By CarlU
This was a replacement I bout for a Makita I wore out. This unit does not probably switch between hammer, drill, and screw. Now I have to waste time trying to get warranty claim. Depending on how smooth that goes I’ll adjust the ratting. Wish I would have noticed the issue within the 30 day return window. Make sure you test it well quickly.

Turd!

 on July 7, 2018
By PigPen4x4
I have owned Makita tools since I started buying my own equipment.

Fit FInish Size and Power are all excellent.

 on September 23, 2017
By ALF Engineer
This replaces an older Makita brush motor model that I’ve had and loved for years. The hand feel and controls on this brushless model are excellent.

BEWARE GETS STUCK IN HAMMER MODE

 on May 24, 2017
By Kevin
I like others have the same problem with it being stuck in now in Hammer mode as well the drill itself is smaller than the previous model and although it works well if you have large hands like I do you tend to hit the switch that triggers it from going in one direction or the other unnecessarily the worst part is it being stuck in Hammer mode which for me is not so bad because I use Hammer mode a lot in my line of work but I would be warning people that that’s the case with this and they need to fix this ASAP.

May have to force change the settings

 on July 21, 2018
By Joel A.
Pretty powerful and it has a lot of features. I use Makita exclusively in my line of work and they get a lot of abuse. However after the first use this one locked up on me so that I couldn’t change it from the Drill to Hammer To Screw feature. I didn’t want to break the damn thing all the way since I could still use it but my coworker used a large amount of force to move it away from the Hammer setting and it has freely moved between the three settings ever since. So it doe the job but that still makes me a bit wary of what may happen next.

A Workhorse

 on April 16, 2018
By Jeff
I purchased this drill to replace an older Makita BHP454 that finally wore out. The drill is significantly lighter and smaller than the BHP454, but performs equally well, in my opinion. During a two-day construction project that included building a 20×26 foot deck with an attached gazebo, I was able to test all aspects of this tool and it passed with flying colors. Driving 3″ deck screws was generally no problem, although I found in some cases I had to switch to hammer drill (louder) mode when I maxed out the clutch in the screw driving mode at the higher speed setting. The drill was used constantly during deck laying, and I’m guessing the 2 amp/hr battery lasted 45-60 minutes. Given the fast charge time, we were never without a fully charged battery. The drill also did well drilling long pilot holes for 8-12 inch timber-lock screws, and was able to easily drive the screws using hammer mode. For general drilling, the chuck ran true and I could imagine using it for cabinet work instead of my beloved Festool CXS. There were no problems switching between modes, nor did I have any issues with the forward-reverse slide switch. My only ding is there was no bit holder included, so I purchased one on Amazon (MAK4192762) and it fit perfectly on the side opposite the belt hook. I think this drill would work fine for most people unless you are attempting very fine scale work in close quarters (that’s why I have the CXS) or very large construction projects. It is light, powerful, maneuverable, and didn’t weigh down my tool belt as I climbed up and down ladders or over rafters all day long.

Review Of Makita XPH12Z Cordless Hammer Driver Drill