Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill

  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    New DeWalt DCD996 20V MAX Flexvolt Hammer Drill Review and Demonstration
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--2 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    Best Rated DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Review
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--3 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    Dewalt DCD996 1/2" Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill Driver Review
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--4 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    DeWalt 20V Max Flexvolt DCK299D1T1 Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Combo Review and Demonstration
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--5 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    Must See Review! DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--6 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--7 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    Must See DeWalt Review! DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer..
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--8 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    DEWALT 20V Max XR Hammer Drill – Overview & Specifications
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--9 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    DEWALT DCD797 20V XR Tool Connect Compact Hammer Drill Vs Milwaukee 2702-20
  • Top Rated Drills review-of-dewalt-dcd996b-hammer-drill--10 Review of DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer Drill
    DEWALT DCD996B Bare Tool 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $169.00 (as of October 18, 2018 10:28 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

DEWALT DCD996B 20V MAX * XR Lithium Ion Brushless 3-Speed Hammer drill – Bare tool includes a DEWALT-built high power, high effectiveness brushless motor that provides up to 57% more run time over brushed. This hammer drill has a tough 1/2″” ratcheting nitro-carburized metal chuck with carbide inserts for exceptional bit gripping strength. The 3-Mode LED light provides lighting in dark or restricted locations around 20X brighter than previous style, with an LED Spotlight mode with a 20 minute shutoff function allowing prolonged work time in dark or restricted areas. A 3-speed, all-metal high effectiveness transmission boosts tool-to-task for quick application speeds and improved run-time, with 0-38,250 BPM for fast drilling in masonry items. Consists of: (1) DCD996 – 20V MAX * XR Lithium Ion Brushless Premium 3-Speed Hammer drill, Belt Hook, 360 ° side deal with. This is a bare tool product – battery offered separately.

Customer Reviews

Best Ever! The DCD996 is Dewalt’s best Hammerdrill.

 on June 17, 2016
By Bryan Shumaker
As of this review, the DCD996 is the best hammerdrill currently produced by Dewalt, and is the best hammerdrill I have ever owned!

not too happy about. DeWalt needs to step it up

 on February 23, 2018
By Stacy R.
I’m about to order my third one in a year I’m electrician in Florida and do a lot of concrete work… I use this tool on a daily basis when I called about a warranty they want me to drop it off over an hour and a half away at a service center to see if it’s covered… I don’t have time for that.. not too happy about . DeWalt needs to step it up..

Dewalt’s 20V Max XR line of tools is a great option for those who want to completely cut the …

 on January 22, 2018
By Amazon Customer
Dewalt’s 20V Max XR line of tools is a great option for those who want to completely cut the cord.

Great for drilling concrete and all-around drill/driver. Nice work DeWalt!

 on January 16, 2018
By Austin Guy
I bought this for the hammer mode for drilling concrete. I used to drill several 1/4″ holes 2 inches deep in 50 year old (hard) concrete. Each hole took less than a minute (it would take hours without the hammer mode). I’ve got the small 2 AH batteries, drilled 5 holes with power to spare. Love the LED in the base which lights up the drill point without shadows. The LED also has a ‘work light’ mode where it will stay on for 20 minutes to light up your work space. Also has screwdriver with adjustable clutch, non-hammer drill modes, variable speed, 3 gears for controlling torque vs. drill speed. 1 year maintenance warranty (meaning that if you wear it out they will repair it) , and 3 year manufacturer warranty (for defects). Nice work DeWalt. Tip on drilling concrete: push down just hard enough to keep the bit from bouncing and increase speed until you see concrete dust flowing out of the hole. If dust is not flying then maybe you are not drilling fast enough. If you get it right the bit will not overheat.

Thank you Santa !

 on December 26, 2017
By KLash
Heavy Duty! Powerful. This is probably not the right model if you’re doing typical DIY work like hanging drywall or mounting cabinets, it’s heavy. Can’t imagine holding it up all day. The LED light works great, very bright.I wanted this for the hammerdrill option and drilling through concrete. It’s perfect for that workload.

Very good drill

 on May 26, 2017
By amazon customer
Plenty of power. I drilled several 1.5″ diameter holes with a self feeding bit with no problem. You definitely need to use the second handle to keep from hurting yourself at full power (learned that the hard way). It’s also pretty good for sensitive jobs. The only drawback being that in order to get to the lowest power, you need to set the speed to 3 which spins it a little faster than I would like. The hammer function works fine. I’ve had a lot of cordless drills over the years and, if it can stand the test of time, this one would be the best yet. Definitely a 5 star product.

Very nice drill!

 on November 25, 2016
By Kathryn S.
Received this product today, and its everything I expected from a high end DeWALT and more! Even on the highest speed this thing belts out torque! Probably has more torque than my truck! The light is a great feature, it has three settings: low, medium, and high brightness with 20 min timer. The drill makes a great area light with the timer feature, PLUS it blinks and dims at 18 minutes to let you know time is almost up, but gives you time to get your hands free, a feature I was unaware of. On the high torque low speed setting, I decided to test the torque by attempting to stall the drill, DON’T DO THAT! I put a piece of 6″ long, 1/4″ thick mild steel rod and secured it, it twisted it like a piece of bubble gum, and about broke my wrist with the side handle installed! This has more power than most can handle, so beware. Docking a star since it has a spot for a depth control rod bit did not include one. At this price point, I shouldn’t have to purchase something that is so cheap for them to include. Besides that minor complaint, it’s hands down the nicest drill I’ve ever used!

Nice Drill

 on May 12, 2017
By Steven Pierce
Nice Strong drill. It’s great having the ability to use a hammer drill when needed. Also the clutch is nice. It just stops when you reach the desired torque. It is a bit heavy but I understood it probably would be for the performance. If you use a drill a lot it may not be right for you, but I use my 20v impact most of the time unless I’m actually drilling something.

A Work Beast

 on October 2, 2016
By Dr. Norm
Almost too much power! I also have a gyro screwdriver so I use that for the smaller jobs that need a lighter touch. This thing is a beast. And I still haven’t had to recharge the battery after using it for all the assorted projects around the house. Two batteries means I won’t have any downtime even on the big projects.

This thing is a beast! I usually upgrade every …

 on June 30, 2017
By JAV
This thing is a beast! I usually upgrade every few years when I wear them out from drilling holes roughing out houses for electrical. I try to stick with one brand for major tools cause having too many different batteries is a pain to charge. I always buy dewalt since I have a few problems with Milwaukee tools, they either stop working or smoke to death. I’ll just stick to something I can trust more then the other.

Review Of DEWALT DCD996B Hammer Drill